UW Nursing Dean is National Nurse Practitioners Fellow

November 13, 2008
Woman smiling
Mary E. Burman

Mary E. Burman, dean of the University of Wyoming Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing, was inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) during the group's meeting in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

The fellowship recognizes nurse practitioner (NP) leaders who "made outstanding contributions to health care through NP clinical practice, research, education or policy." Burman is recognized for her "dedication to the profession of nursing, her outstanding teaching and research and her proven leadership ability."

FAANP priorities are to develop leadership and mentorship programs for NPs and NP students. Fellows are visionaries committed to the global advancement of nursing. Fellows contribute to the future of NPs and health care outside the confines of traditional thinking.

Burman served as interim dean of the College of Health Sciences in 2006 and received a Carnegie Scholar Award from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching in 2000. She is the director/co-director of multiple research awards at UW and the author/co-author of more than 30 journal articles and a variety of other publications in her field of advanced practice nursing and primary care.

She is also a Fellow in the Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Program, a member of the Board of Directors of the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties and of Laramie's Downtown Clinic. Burman also serves on the Rural Health Care Delivery Systems Committee of Wyoming and on the Wyoming Council for Advanced Practice Nurses. 


Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)