UW Senior Honor Society Names Top Professors

November 12, 2008

Members of the University of Wyoming Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board have named their "Top Profs" for the academic year.

All of the members of the senior honor society selected professors who have made a positive impact on their lives at UW. These professors go beyond normal classroom expectations to help their students succeed, both in college and later in their careers.

"Being selected as a 'Top Prof' is a great honor for professors because they are chosen by the students," says College of Engineering and Applied Science Professor David Whitman, Mortar Board adviser.

Selection as a member of Mortar Board is one of the highest honors that a UW senior can achieve. Mortar Board recognizes students who have excelled in and out of the classroom, based on scholarship, leadership and service. Mortar Board members participate in many projects and activities throughout the year, both on campus and in the Laramie community.

Listed are the UW Mortar Board students, their Top Profs for 2008 and the professors' disciplines.

Alpine -- Kimberly Cranford, Mark Stayton, molecular biology.
Belle Fourche, S.D. -- Casey Dschaak, Stephanie Anderson, political science.
Brownfield, Texas -- Joshua Nicholas, Debra Beck, political science.
Casper -- Jennifer Syvertson, Stacy Baker, management and marketing.
Cheyenne -- Carly-Ann Anderson, Stephen Herbert, botany; Kassi Bauman, Dan Rule, animal science; Ashlie Boltinghouse, Laura Meloche, nursing; Kelsey Day, Jean Garrison, international studies; Maurisa Jensen, Bryan Shader, mathematics; Stephanie Johnson, Christopher Nicholas, music; Jason Joyce, Duncan Harris, English; Ashley Powell, Walt Werner, economics and finance; Sarah Read, Kent Drummond, management and marketing; Deborah Sneed, Cedric Reverand, English. 
Cincinnati, Ohio -- Aaron Merkin, Debra Parkinson, education.
Copper Center, Ark. -- Susannah Tobey, Joseph Krafczik, modern and classical languages.
Davenport, Iowa -- Ellen Hart, Carlos Martinez del Rio, zoology and physiology.
Douglas -- Sandra Smylie, E. Lee Belden, veterinary sciences.
Florence, Ky. -- Stephen West, Robert Belser, music.
Hill City, S.D. -- Jess Anderson, Pamela Langer, molecular biology.
Laramie -- Megan Bagley, Henry Kobulnicky, physics and astronomy.
Newcastle -- Alexander Jording, Charles Angevine, geology and geophysics.
Rawlins -- Mahvash Baig, Richard Barrans, physics and astronomy.
Riverton -- Regina Stonecipher, Colleen Hubbell, WWAMI.
Rock Springs -- Alicia Grove, Holly Miller, nursing.
Saratoga -- Sara Rangitsch, Philip Varca, management and marketing.
Scottsbluff, Neb. -- Keegan Harkins, Gerard Andrews, veterinary sciences; Janel Sindt, David Jones, communication disorders.
Sidney, Neb. -- Kelsey Adams, Tricia Johnson, education.
Vale, S.D. -- Nicole Steffes, Rachel Watson, molecular biology.


Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)