Staff Members Honored for Service to Students

March 24, 2010
Two women talking
Tip of the Cap -- Lindsay Smith, a University of Wyoming animal and veterinary science junior from Yoder, presented a Mortar Board "Tip of the Cap Award" to Carolyn Herman, senior office associate in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Dean's Office. The "Tip of the Cap Award" is given to UW staff members who offered "exceptional contributions to the University of Wyoming and inspiration of students." (UW Photo)

Members of Mortar Board, the senior honor society at the University of Wyoming, recognized UW staff members during the recent "Tip of the Cap" ceremony. The program honored those who offered "exceptional contributions to the University of Wyoming and inspiration of students."

Selection as a member of Mortar Board is one of the highest honors that a UW senior can achieve. Mortar Board recognizes students who have excelled in and out of the classroom, based on scholarship, leadership and service. Mortar Board members participate in many projects and activities throughout the year, both on campus and in the Laramie community.

The Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board students, listed with the staff members selected for "Tip of the Cap" are:

Lindsay Capron -- Anne Alexander, Office of International Programs.
Shaina Case -- Laurie Sanchez, Department of Criminal Justice.
Ali Coy -- Jennifer Martin, Division of Kinesiology and Health.
Christine De George /Kari Ward -- Diane Epler, Division of Communication Disorders.
Anna D'Hooge -- Mona Gupton, Family and Consumer Sciences Department.
Whitney Elsbuy -- Laurie Bonini, Agriculture Academic Affairs.
Brittany Epler -- Kate Steiner, Dean of Student's Office.
Patrick Faden -- Sara Luke, Campus Recreation.
Leslie Fischer --Jennifer Martin, Kinesiology and Health Department.
Kira Hodgson -- Diane Delaney, UW Apartments.
Jonathan Hunzeker -- Cindy Elrod, Admissions.
Danee Hunzie -- Mary Aguayo, Admissions.
Danielle Ireland -- Joan Downham, College of Business Marketing Department.
Laura Leimback -- Cathy Valades Flynn, WWAMI Medical Education Office. 
Bailey Loghry, Rhonda Baccari, College of Business Advising.
Mellissa McCarthy -- Ema Shenefelt, College of Business Accounting Office Associate.
Ben McKay -- Kathy Olson, College of Business Dean's Office.
Liz Rader -- Pete Simpson, Political Science Department.
Charles Schmit -- Fred Chapp, College of Engineering Dean's Office.
Lindsay Smith -- Carolyn Herman, College of Agriculture Dean's Office.
Sheryl Stake -- Diana Waggener, College of Arts and Sciences.
Samantha Stutz, Dustin Bronson, Department of Renewable Resources.
Nancy Thoman -- Kris Brewer, Office of the Registrar. 
Gwendolyn VanBaalen -- Laurie Kempert, Department of Music.
Ashley Wing -- Melanie Stinson, Department of Psychology.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)