Wyoming Debate Hall of Fame to Honor Four New Inductees

April 20, 2010

The University of Wyoming debate team and the Department of Communication and Journalism will honor four individuals at the second annual Wyoming Debate Hall of Fame induction ceremony Saturday, May 22.

"These inductees represent the whole array of values represented by the Hall of Fame, from intercollegiate competitive success, to success directing and coaching intercollegiate debate, to coaching future top intercollegiate competitors in high school, to contributions in the institutional and structural support of intercollegiate debate in Wyoming, says Matt Stannard, director of forensics in the UW Department of Communication and Journalism.

The Wyoming Debate Hall of Fame was established in 2009 to honor individuals who have made substantial contributions to the activity of intercollegiate debate in the state of Wyoming. 

The 2010 inductees are:

Duane and Virginia Fish: Longtime debate and forensics educators at Northwest College. The Fishes, with the assistance of many valuable coaches, have maintained one of the nation's most powerful community college debate teams for the last three decades, have won numerous forensics service awards, have sent countless students on to debate success at four-year institutions, and have helped the state of Wyoming secure long-term institutional stability for both intercollegiate and high school debate. 

Daniel Meek: One of the best National Debate Tournament league debaters in the nation during the 1970s, Meek earned a First Round At-Large bid to the National Debate Tournament, and went on to become a committed advocate of utility reform, a prominent political organizer and election law lawyer, and a prolific and energetic advocate in the Portland, Ore. Meek has also consistently supported the efforts of the University of Wyoming Debate Team.

Sandy Patrick: A former UW debater, Patrick has emerged as one of the nation's most successful high school debate coaches at Cheyenne East, serving on national committees and writing topic papers for the high school debate community. What makes her tenure unique is the number of her students who have gone on to national prominence in college debate, including the top speaker at both the National Debate Tournament and Cross-Examination Debate Association (CEDA) Nationals in 2008, the CEDA Debater of the Year in 2006, and many national elimination round participants from Wyoming and several other institutions.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)