Wyoming Students Benefit from Rocky Mountain Power Foundation Grant

September 2, 2010

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation awarded $25,000 to the University of Wyoming for education and research programs and for scholarships for entering freshmen from Wyoming communities.

Rocky Mountain Power and the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation have gifted $590,800 to UW since 1991.

"The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation allocates grants to organizations that best serve community interests," says Lilisa Hall, executive director of the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation. "The University of Wyoming is a distinguished institution that opens doors of opportunity for young adults by providing them with a well-rounded and exceptional education."

"Providing educational opportunities to young adults is essential to ensuring our communities continue to thrive," says Matt Grant, Rocky Mountain Power customer and community manager. "These college students represent the future of Wyoming and we are proud to help invest in their future by providing scholarships and program funding to University of Wyoming freshman."

The grant also supports other campus programs, including College of Engineering and Applied Science Senior Design Symposium, Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources, UW Art Museum, UW Center for Volunteer Service and the UW/Casper College Center.

"The university greatly appreciates our long-time association with the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation," says David Gruen, director of Student Financial Aid. "For nearly two decades their continued support has assisted many students in achieving their educational goals. We look forward to continuing this collaboration for many years to come."

Rocky Mountain Power Foundation scholarship recipients for the 2010-11 academic year are as follows:

Casper -- Ryan Beebout, Bryan Sanger.

Cheyenne -- Dalton Petrillo, Thomas Wolf.

Dayton -- Travis Shuck.

Douglas -- Tricia Jensen.

Ethete -- Caleb Her Many Horses.

Gillette -- Kaylyn Bahnson.

Green River -- Colter Rood.

Hulett -- Taylor Garman.

Laramie -- Chase Ferguson, Elinore Simpson, Amy Van Cleave.

Pavillion -- Trent Jordan.

Riverton -- Seth Hosking.

Rock Springs -- Garrett Zans.

Sheridan -- Hannah Johlman.

Torrington -- Patrick Guth.

Worland -- Carly Krump.

About the University of Wyoming Foundation:

The University of Wyoming Foundation is an independent, nonprofit corporation dedicated to securing, managing, and stewarding private gifts in support of the University of Wyoming's missions in teaching, research, and public service. As the state's premier four-year institution of higher education, private support from alumni and friends has never been more important.

About the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation:

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation is part of the PacifiCorp Foundation, one of the largest utility-endowed foundations in the United States. The foundation was created in 1988 by PacifiCorp, an electric utility serving 1.7 million customers in six Western states as Rocky Mountain Power (Utah, Wyoming and Idaho) and Pacific Power (Oregon, Washington and California). The foundation's mission, through charitable investments, is to support growth and vitality of the communities served by Pacific Power and Rocky Mountain Power. For more information, visit www.rockymountainpower.net/rmpfoundation.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)