UW Facilities Planners Receive Trustees Award of Merit

January 20, 2012

The University of Wyoming's Facilities Planning office has been a busy place the past five years.

From October 2006 to December 2011, 23 major capital construction projects were completed at the university, and three more are slated for completion in 2012. The projects have resulted in the addition or renovation of about 1.4 million square feet on campus, with a total value of slightly under $400 million.

And each project has been completed on time and within budget, with a minimal increase in the size of the Facilities Planning staff.

For its efforts in successfully leading UW's unprecedented building boom, the Facilities Planning team was honored Friday with the UW Trustees' Award of Merit. The 14-member staff, led by director and university architect Roger Baalman, was recognized during the January meeting of the UW Board of Trustees.

"These folks have done an incredible job in helping physically transform our campus through major, complex building projects," UW President Tom Buchanan says. "The fact all of the work was done on time and within budget is truly a remarkable achievement."

The Facilities Planning staff also has played a leading role in achieving LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification for many of the new facilities. LEED certification represents the highest industry standard which recognizes environmentally responsible construction methods that produce energy-efficient buildings.

In addition to Baalman, the Facilities Planning office consists of Keith Seebart, associate director and architect; Chet Lockard Jr., associate director and architect; K. Merl Haworth, associate director and architect; Rock Morgan, manager of capital projects; Jennifer Coast, manager of capital projects, recently promoted to deputy director of facilities engineering in the UW Physical Plant; Michael Ziemann, LEED engineer; James Thomas, architect; Jody Kalinay, executive business manager; Michael Rice, space allocation manager; Zoe Curtright, office associate; Kevin Buck, facilities planning technician; Amanda Hansen, facilities planning technician; and Nathan Bonck, facilities planning technician.

The UW Trustees' Award of Merit was established by the Board of Trustees in 1984 to recognize members of the faculty, staff and student body who have rendered meritorious service or made exemplary contributions to the university.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)