UW Mortar Board Honors Top Profs

November 19, 2012
Two women smiling
Members of the UW chapter of Mortar Board recently honored their "Top Prof," the individual who has "made exceptional contributions to the university and to the service of students." Student Christine Pond of Casper, right, honored Top Prof Elizabeth Dole-Izzo, professor of social work.

Members of the University of Wyoming Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board have named their "Top Profs" for the academic year.

All members of the senior honor society selected professors who have made a positive impact on their lives at UW. These professors go beyond normal classroom expectations to help their students succeed, both in college and later in their careers.

"Being selected as a 'Top Prof' is a great honor for professors because they are chosen by the students," says College of Engineering and Applied Science Professor David Whitman, one of Mortar Board's advisers.

Selection as a member of Mortar Board is one of the highest honors that a UW senior can achieve. Mortar Board recognizes students who have excelled in and out of the classroom, based on scholarship, leadership and service. Mortar Board members participate in many projects and activities throughout the year, both on campus and in the Laramie community.

Listed are the UW Mortar Board students, their Top Profs for 2012 and the professors' disciplines:

Arvada, Colo. -- Taylor True, David McDonald, zoology and physiology.

Big Piney -- Kailey Barlow, Dannele Peck, agricultural and applied economics.

Casper -- Courtney Brackenrich, Edward Koncel, physics and astronomy; Morgan Cropsey, Christine Boggs, outreach credit programs; Kaitlynn Glover, Alan Schroeder, agricultural and applied economics; Christine Pond, Elizabeth Dole-Izzo, social work; Jon Vencill, Edward Janak, educational studies.

Cheyenne -- Ellisa Calvetti, Duncan Harris, English; Mila Lemaster, Roger Steeve, communication disorders; Callie Neelands, Michael Liebman, family and consumer sciences; Kyle Purcell, Ryan Kobbe, civil and architectural engineering; Ryan Ragaglia, Teena Gabrielson, political science; Karon Volk, Heidemarie Laurent, psychology.

Douglas -- Elisa Etchemendy, Scott Turpen, music.

Fort Collins, Colo. -- Cierra Peterson, Holly Miller, nursing.

Gillette -- Michelle Gouldin, Meg Skinner, Ellbogen Center; Sadie West, Narina Nunez, psychology.

Glenrock -- James Moulton, Rachel Watson, molecular biology.

Green River -- Cameron Finley, Daniel Wall, molecular biology.

Jackson -- Lisa Baldock, Michael Liebman, family and consumer sciences.

Kemmerer -- Amy Lockwood, Melissa Allen, communication disorders.

Laramie -- Kathleen Bartke, Jose Rosa, management and marketing; Mary Goetz, Brianna Wright, botany; Catherine Schmidt, Pamela Langer, molecular biology; Kiersten Steinkruas, Derek Smith, kinesiology and health.

Lingle -- Maggie Ochsner, Meg Skinner, Ellbogen Center.

Lusk -- Adrienne Hammond, Michelle Beracha, accounting.

Omaha, Neb. -- Kathleen Bouzis, Thomas Seitz, global and area studies.

Rapid City, S.D. -- Sarah Melendez, Marci Smith, kinesiology and health.

Rock Springs -- Elena Monteleone, Catherine Connolly, gender and women’s studies; Dakota Robertson, John Pierre, electrical and computer engineering.

Saratoga -- Chelsie Collier, Tricia Johnson, elementary and early childhood education.

Shoshoni -- Ty McNamee, Jeremy Weaver, Honors Program.

Steamboat Springs, Colo. -- Sarah Dixson, Rachel Watson, molecular biology.

Thermopolis -- Katherine Donahue, Marci Smith, kinesiology and health.

Thornton, Colo. -- Mara Cosgrove, Rachel Watson, molecular biology.

Westminster, Colo. -- Amber Rittenhouse, John Spitler, mathematics.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)