Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


UW Awards Top Scholarship to 97 Wyoming Students


Ninety-seven outstanding high school seniors from across Wyoming have been selected to receive the 2017 Trustees' Scholars Award, the University of Wyoming's top academic scholarship.

The premier scholarship for Wyoming resident high school seniors covers actual credit hours taken as well as room and board costs for eight semesters at UW, starting with the fall 2017 semester. Students from 26 high schools, along with home-school students, were chosen from among 432 eligible candidates.

Recipients are evaluated on their academic excellence (high school grade-point average, ACT/SAT scores and curriculum rigor). For this year’s award winners -- whose application materials were due by Dec. 1 -- the average GPA is 3.95, and the average ACT score is 32.

“This is a fantastic group of high school students from across Wyoming, and we are excited to welcome them to UW in the fall,” UW Admissions Director Shelley Dodd says.

To retain the scholarship all four years at UW, students must maintain full-time continuous enrollment (at least 12 semester hours) during the fall and spring semesters each year, along with a 3.0 cumulative GPA.

A total of 293 UW students are attending under the Trustees’ Scholars Award this academic year, at a value of $3.02 million.

Recipients of the 2017 scholarship, listed by high schools they’re attending along with their chosen majors, are:

Big Horn High School -- Lydia Mayer, secondary education/English.

Burlington High School -- Benjamin Smith, mechanical engineering.

Burns High School -- Katrina Norris, pre-nursing; Rebecca Derner, pre-nursing.

Campbell County High School -- Anna Muzzarelli, management; Madden Pikula, biology; Maria Swartz, marketing; Meagan Barnes, psychology; Ryley Constable, finance; Sierra Even, physiology.

Cheyenne Central High School -- Ayda Lewis, biology; Cody Harris, chemical engineering; Ethan West, undeclared; Jackson Rudolph, chemical engineering; Kylee Johnston, engineering (undeclared).

Cheyenne East High School -- Alisha Corbin, molecular biology; Anthony Pappas, engineering (undeclared); Barry Dobler, chemical engineering; Hayden Kastens, undeclared; Liam Guille, molecular biology.

Cheyenne South High School -- Caleb Price, petroleum engineering; Jennel Mead, chemical engineering.

Cody High School -- Zachary Ross, engineering (undeclared).

Douglas High School -- Danica Shearer, physiology; Jacy Busboom, chemical engineering; Olivia Kitterman, undeclared; Spencer Romberg, computer science.

Glenrock High School -- Briley James, engineering (undeclared); Jacob Dalman, business (undeclared);

Green River High School -- Andrew Halverson, chemical engineering; Spencer Kurth, engineering (undeclared).

Greybull High School -- Anna Savage, undeclared; Shayne Mazur, English.

Home school -- Abigail Shockley, Jackson, business (undeclared); Alannah Gee, Cody, undeclared; Catherine Marple, Lander, arts and sciences (undeclared); Fiachra Rottinghaus, Lander, psychology.

Jackson Hole Community High School -- Sarah McIntosh, environmental system science.

Jackson Hole High School -- Amber Budge, engineering (undeclared); Brayden Gaston, health sciences (undeclared); Claire Radda, journalism; Elizabeth Chambers, communication; Emilie Gocke, physiology; Kyler Arriola, political science; Maria Centrella, English; Riley Liljestrom, English.

Kelly Walsh High School -- Abigail Chambers, undeclared; Gabrielle Reimann, biology; Grady Parrish, engineering (undeclared); Harriet Norcross, journalism; Joel Strube, engineering (undeclared); Jonah Spicher, engineering (undeclared); Sydnee Jensen, kinesiology and health promotion; Tatiana Rice, undeclared.

Lander Valley High School -- Joshua Trembly, undeclared.

Laramie High School -- Adam Leduc, music performance; Adrian Johnson, undeclared; Brynli Bleak, undeclared; Claire Yost, undeclared; Colter Robinette, engineering (undeclared); Daniel Graeff, pre-nursing; Isabel Noyes, biology; Lauren Regnell, zoology; Lucas Regnell, pre-pharmacy; Lucia Cho, biology; Maria Smith-Lopez, energy resource management and development; Samuel Rovani, mechanical engineering; Shayak Bandyopadhyay, molecular biology.

Mountain View High School -- Chase Smith, astronomy and astrophysics.

Natrona County High School -- Charles Wiggins, electrical engineering; Luke Sorenson, biology; Micah Miller, music performance; Trey Campbell, agricultural education.

Newcastle High School -- Anna Gettinger, psychology.

Pinedale High School -- Brayden Ahlstrom, astronomy and astrophysics; Lynora Anderson, music education; McKenna Legerski, undeclared.

Powell High School -- Meg Hanlin, undeclared; Nicole Sanders, psychology.

Riverton High School -- Amanda Johnston, psychology; McKenzie Dykman, animal and veterinary science.

Rock Springs High School -- Fletcher Wadsworth, architectural engineering; Kaylee Hardesty, management; Pawel Klatka, engineering (undeclared).

Sheridan High School -- Ethyn Etchechoury, chemistry; Gabriel Briggs, chemical engineering; John Lenzi, engineering (undeclared); Robert Culver, mechanical engineering; Sidney Jensen, computer science.

Star Valley High School -- Cassidy Post, undeclared; Hayden Erickson, undeclared; Isabella Currie, music education; Kalli Christensen, undeclared; Makenzie Linford, undeclared; Ruby Howes, social work; Shaylee Erickson, sociology; Stephanie Strang, undeclared.

For more information about the UW Trustees’ Scholars Award, as well as other scholarship opportunities at UW, go to


Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929