Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Contact Us

Chad Baldwin
Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929
Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

Phi Beta Kappa Elects New Members at UW

April 9, 2014 — America's original scholastic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa (PBK), has selected 33 new members for the University of Wyoming chapter, based upon their demonstrated excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.

“To be elected, a student needs to show a balanced liberal arts education that accords with the national stipulations, and which we verify by examining every candidate’s transcript in detail,” says Eric Nye, associate professor in the Department of English and chapter secretary. “It is the one distinction prospective employers and graduate schools are swift to notice.”

Nye says members cannot apply or be nominated to PBK, but are selected by faculty members in the chapter. Membership is limited to those in the top 10 percent of the graduating class, but Nye says PBK members at UW typically are in the top 4 to 5 percent. The UW chapter sponsors lectures, scholarships and other academic activities.

The new members will be initiated at a public ceremony Friday, April 25, at 3:30 p.m. in the  Wyoming Union Family Room. Myron Allen, professor in the Department of Mathematics and former UW provost, will be the speaker.

Phi Beta Kappa selects new members each year from 283 chapters nationwide. UW’s chapter was granted in November 1940.

This year, six new members each will receive a $1,000 Louise A. Lee Johnson Memorial Scholarship. They are Monica Bockman, Moran; Stanley DeVore, Eaton, Colo.; Lindzey Patterson, Meeker, Colo.; Ashley Saulcy, Casper; Brian Schueler, Buffalo; and Lindsay White, Douglas.

New Phi Beta Kappa members at UW, listed by hometowns and majors, are:


Afton -- Kira Cheshier, international studies and art.

Buffalo -- Brian Schueler, international studies and economics.

Diamondville -- Randi Mihahlovic, English.

Casper -- Ashley Saulcy, international studies; and Allyson Zebre, psychology.

Cheyenne -- Gordon Dobbs, political science; Kristen Flock, music; Brittney Goeken, psychology; Drew Newman, chemistry; and Thang Nguyen, microbiology.

Douglas -- Lindsay White, physiology and Spanish.

Green River -- Daniel De Cecco, international studies and economics.

Lander -- Paige Hammer, criminal justice; Devin Irene, physiology; and Melanie Vigil, gender/women’s studies and international studies.

Laramie -- Mary Goetz, Spanish and education; Joshua Mann, English.

Lyman -- Jennifer Ann Martin, humanities/fine arts and social science.

Moran -- Monica Bockman, mathematics and Spanish.

Newcastle -- Shelby Hughes, Spanish.

Wilson -- Meredith Krewson, psychology.

Worland -- Kendra Moore, chemistry.

Yoder -- Dane Hansen, history.


Eaton -- Stanley Bryan Devore, physiology.

Colorado Springs -- Jane Olsen, international studies and economics.

Fort Collins -- Kelley Coxey, German.

Longmont -- Callie Berman, geology and international studies.

Meeker -- Lindzey Patterson, psychology and criminal justice.


Moscow -- Kai J. Fictum, anthropology and religious studies.


Woodstock -- Chad Gibbs, history.


Pushpa Khanal, molecular biology.

South Dakota

Lead -- Chancelor Havlik, art and French.


Sandy -- Kylee Snuffer, anthropology.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader