Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Wyoming Teachers Attend Heart Mountain Professional Development Seminar

October 27, 2015

Teachers from Casper, Cheyenne, Clearmont, Cody, Dubois, Glenrock, Laramie, Pinedale, Sheridan, Shoshoni and Wheatland attended a recent two-day professional development seminar focusing on the historical and constitutional issues surrounding the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II.

Representatives of Wyoming History Day; We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution; and We the People: Project Citizen conducted the seminar for teachers at the Heart Mountain Interpretive Learning Center (ILC) in Park County. The program was made possible by a grant from the John P. Ellbogen Foundation with support from the American Heritage Center (AHC) at the University of Wyoming. The seminar was designed for teachers in grades 5 through 12.

Speakers included Sam Mihara, renowned lecturer and survivor of the Japanese-American imprisonment at Heart Mountain; Michael Mackey, author and former instructor of history at Northwest Community College in Powell; Tyson Emborg, instructor of advanced placement United States government at Sheridan High School; and Rick Ewig, acting director of the AHC.

In addition to listening to and interacting with the presenters, the participants toured the Heart Mountain Camp site and examined the exhibits in the ILC museum. The teachers also shared ideas on how best to present information about the Japanese-American experience before, during and after World War II. They toured the Buffalo Bill Center of the West in Cody and learned about its MILES (Museum Interpretation, Learning and Enrichment for Students) program.

For more information about the seminar and/or the three curricular programs, contact Matt Strannigan, Wyoming state coordinator for We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution, at or Richard Kean, Wyoming state coordinator for Project Citizen and History Day, at

Teachers attending the Heart Mountain seminar were:

Casper -- John Trohkimoinen and Paula Volker.

Cheyenne -- Lorrie Bartow, Mary Bravo, Liz Edington, Crystal Grady, Jason Hayes, Barry McCann and Lynette West.

Clearmont -- Jennifer Betz.

Cody -- Kjell Seeger.

Dubois -- Rosey Graff and Ross Ketchum.

Glenrock -- Chase Anfinson.

Laramie -- Jessica Flock and Cynthia Webb.

Pinedale -- Rose Robertson.

Sheridan -- Tyson Emborg.

Shoshoni -- Max Mills.

Wheatland -- Mary Jo Birt.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon