Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Chief Washakie Scholarship Students Selected at UW

June 23, 2016

Chief Washakie scholarships recently were awarded to 12 University of Wyoming students for the coming academic year.

Current recipients of the Chief Washakie Scholarship, who will continue to receive support for the coming year, are: Ashlee Enos, a senior in management with a minor in American Indian studies, from Fort Washakie; Colleen Friday, seeking a Master of Science degree in rangeland ecology and watershed management, from Laramie; Avis Garcia, seeking a Ph.D. in counselor education and supervision, Mia Holt, a senior in physiology with a minor in American Indian studies, and Nicola Holt, a senior in anthropology, all from Lander; and Taryn Jim, a sophomore in speech language and hearing science with a minor in disability studies, from Fort Washakie.

Recipients also included Sharolyn Jimerson, a senior in computer science, Lee Tendore, a senior in Native American studies, Reinette Tendore, seeking a Master of Social Work with a minor in American Indian studies, and Kailyn Washakie, a senior in English, all from Fort Washakie; and Tucker Russell, a sophomore in education, from Lander.

Lander’s Vanessa Sorrels, seeking a Ph.D. in pharmacy, is the new recipient of the scholarship.

Students were recognized at the recent American Indian Studies Honoring of Graduates ceremony.

The scholarship program was created in 2003 when the Chief Washakie Foundation gave $200,000 to UW. Funds were collected to create Chief Washakie statues in the United States and Wyoming capitol buildings, and the joint tribal headquarters in Fort Washakie. The gift was matched by the state, creating a $400,000 endowment that annually produces income for the scholarships.

The Chief Washakie Memorial Endowment at UW helps students and educators -- with significant ties to the Wind River Indian Reservation community -- gain formal knowledge, skills and abilities.

“The spirit of the award assumes that the recipients have, as part of their ultimate goals, some direct participation, appropriate to their educational background, in activities that will further the common good of the people of the Wind River Indian Reservation,” says Debra Littlesun, UW Student Financial Aid associate director.

The selection committee is composed of representatives of the Wind River Indian Reservation community and UW. Members are James Trosper, Chief Washakie Foundation chairman; Mark Harris, co-chairman of the Chief Washakie Foundation; Zedora Enos, great-granddaughter of Chief Washakie; May Raynolds, a Lander resident and member of the Chief Washakie statue committee; Littlesun; Angela Jaime, UW College of Education associate professor; and Amy McClure, UW Outreach regional office academic coordinator at Central Wyoming College.

For more information about the Chief Washakie Scholarships, call Littlesun at (307) 766-2411 or email her at

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon