Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Identifies College of Education Dean Finalists

March 12, 2021

Finalists for the position of dean of the University of Wyoming’s College of Education have been identified, and they are scheduled to participate in virtual public forums at UW starting Monday.

The candidates are Fenice Boyd, professor and chair of the Department of Instruction and Teacher Education at the University of South Carolina; Michael de Miranda, endowed chair and head of the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture at Texas A&M University; Joe Ryan, distinguished professor and executive director of Clemson LIFE at Clemson University; and Scott Thomas, professor and dean of the College of Education and Social Services at the University of Vermont.

Ryan is scheduled to speak Monday, March 15, from 4-5 p.m. The session will be streamed on UW’s WyoCast system at For more information about him, go here

Thomas’s presentation is Wednesday, March 17, from 4-5 p.m. The WyoCast link is For more information about him, go here.

Boyd’s public forum is Friday, March 19, from 4-5 p.m. It can be viewed via WyoCast at For more information about her, go here.

De Miranda is scheduled to speak Monday, March 22, from 4-5 p.m. The WyoCast link is For more information about him, go here.

UW is conducting the search for a successor to Interim Dean Leslie Rush, who has filled the leadership role since former Dean Ray Reutzel retired June 30. A 14-member committee, chaired by UW Honors College Dean Peter Parolin, also includes College of Education Associate Dean Jenna Shim; School of Counseling, Leadership, Advocacy and Design Director Pete Moran; College of Education faculty members Lay-nah Blue Morris Howe and Nikki Baldwin; staff member Debbie Martinez; undergraduate student Jason Wilkins; graduate student Avia Kelly; Trustees Education Initiative staff member Colby Gull; former UW Trustee Dave Bostrom, of Worland; community members Diana Clapp, of Fremont County, Mary Ellbogen Garland, of Laramie, and Thea True Wells, of Casper; and Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration Neil Theobald.

The committee intends to recommend a new dean to the provost and president, who would forward a recommended appointment to the UW Board of Trustees. The new dean would be expected to be in place by July 1, 2021.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon