Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

David Jaeger

Outstanding Former Faculty Member 2015

Department of Chemistry

David Jaeger joined the UW Department of Chemistry in 1971, served as department head from 1990 to 1993, and retired in 2007. He played an important role in the chemistry component of UW's original NSF EPSCoR grant, which resulted in dramatic departmental improvement from the late 1980s. His teaching included sophomore organic and freshman chemistry courses, as well as graduate organic chemistry courses. Jaeger's research on novel surfactants was variously funded (until 2006) by NSF, NIH, the United States Army Research Office, and Unilever Corporation. He served on the A&S Central Committee (chair) and the University Tenure and Promotion Committee (chair). University honors included the George Duke Humphrey Award and Burlington Northern Foundation Award for Scholarship; A&S awards included "Top Ten Teacher," Extraordinary Merit for Teaching, and Exemplary Faculty Member. Jaeger is grateful to UW and the citizens of Wyoming for a challenging and rewarding career. He states: "There was never a day I did not enjoy going to work."


1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon