Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Geology and Geophysics

Graduate Students

Christopher Akuka Akurugu

Christopher Akuka Akurugu

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
cakurugu@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Hydrogeology, Modelling and Machine Learning

Courtney Birdsall

Courtney Birdsall

M.S. candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
cbirdsal@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Petroleum Geology, Geochemistry, Sedimentary Basin Analysis

Matt Butrim

Matt Butrim

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ellen Currano
mbutrim@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleobotany and Paleoecology

Hannah Carney

Hannah Carney

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Riebe
hcarney@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Critical zone science, geochemistry, and geomorphology

Emily Clinkscales

Emily Clinkscales

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
eclinksc@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Aqueous Geochemistry, CO2-water-rock-interactions, Geological Carbon Storage

Daniel Colwell

Daniel Colwell

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Riebe
dcolwell@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Origin and deformation of slow-spread oceanic crust

Jorlivan Correa

Jorlivan Correa

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dario Grana
Jcorrea3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Applied Geophysics, Rock Physics

Julian Hernandez Diepenbrock

Julian Hernandez Diepenbrock

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Mark Clementz
jdiepenb@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Vertebrate Paleontology, Paleoecology, Paleobiology

Sloan Dworian

Sloan Dworian

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bobbie John
ndworian@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: economic geology and igneous petrology

Matheus Faria

Matheus Faria

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
mfaria@uwyo.edu

Michelle Kim

Michelle Kim

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. J.J. Shinker
mkim12@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Climatology, Paleoclimatology, Water Resources, Enviornmental Equity

Christina Kitamikado

Christina Kitamikado

MS Candidate
Advisor: Drs. Cliff Reibe, Brad Carr, Dario Grana
ckitamik@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Near-surface Geophysics, Bedrock Critical Zone, Rock Physics Modeling, Geomorphology

Victoria Konieczka

Victoria Konieczka

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
vkoniecz@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Geochemistry, metal mobility, REES, CO2-water-rock interactions

Brandi Lawler

Brandi Lawler

PhD
Advisor: Dr. Ken Sims
blawler@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Magmatic systems and the formation of ore deposits.

Danchen  Li

Danchen Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
dli3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geohydrology, modeling and enhanced oil recovery

Leon Li

Leon Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
ali@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Near-surface geophysics, critical zone, hydrothermal system

Peng Li

Peng Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
pli3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Seismic Reservoir Modeling, Bayesian inversion

Mike Loya Jr.

Mike Loya Jr.

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ken Sims
mloya@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geochronology

Crystal Luna

Crystal Luna

MS Candidate
Advisors: Dr. Michael Cheadle and Dr. Barbara John
cluna2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Igneous Petrology, Geochemistry, Structural Geology

Louise Mallon

Louise Mallon

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
lmallon@uwyo.edu
Website

Issac Mantelli

Issac Mantelli

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
imantell@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Aqueous geochemistry, isotope geochemistry, deep time

Sara McCullough

Sara McCullough

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
smccull5@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Paleoclimatology

Sydney McKim

Sydney McKim

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Simone Runyon
smckim3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geochemistry, Economic Geology

Cole Messa

Cole Messa

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
cmessa@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Isotope Geochemistry and Volcanology

Andrew Miller

Andrew Miller

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ken Sims
amille78@uwyo.edu
Website

Marissa Murr

Marissa Murr

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
mmurr@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Sedimentology

Emmanuel Oladeji

Emmanuel Oladeji

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Andrew Parsekian
eoladeji@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Near surface geophysics, Machine learning

Stephen Oni

Stephen Oni

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Riebe
soni@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: geochemistry, critical zone science, and volcanology

Stephanie Phillips

Stephanie Phillips

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
sphill24@uwyo.edu
Website

Ellen Polites

Ellen Polites

PhD in Geology
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
epolites@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Geochemistry and the energy transition

Mollie Pope

Mollie Pope

MS Candidate
Advisors: Dr. Jay Chapman and Simone Runyon
mpope5@uwyo.edu
Website

Lena Schwebs

Lena Schwebs

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parsekian
Lschwebs@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Near Surface Geophysics, Hydrogeophysics

Elham Shokrgozaryatimdar

Elham Shokrgozaryatimdar

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Po Chen
eshokrgo@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Seismic Wave Propagation, Full 3D waveform tomography (F3DT), Probabilistic Seismic Hazard Assessment (PSHA), Engineering Seismology

Eva Smith

Eva Smith

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
esmith73@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Near Surface Geophysics/ Hydrogeophysics

Greg Stark

Greg Stark

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
gstark2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Research Interests: Radiogenic isotope geochemistry, igneous petrology

Sophia Stuart

Sophia Stuart

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
sstuart2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Aqueous Geochemistry, Rare Earth Elements

Tim Terlizzi

Tim Terlizzi

MS Candidate
Advisor: Thomas Minckley
tterlizz@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleoecology and Palynology

Amanda Toomey

Amanda Toomey

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
atoomey@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleoclimatology, paleohydrology

Adam Trzinski

Adam Trzinski

PhD in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jay Chapman
atrzinsk@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geologic mapping, tectonics, sedimentology

Jordan Von Eggers

Jordan Von Eggers

PhD in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
jvonegge@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: paleolimnology, alpine ecology, and sedimentary DNA

Nancy Weinheimer

Nancy Weinheimer

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Reibe
nweinhei@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geochemistry, geomorphology, Critical Zone science

Whitney Worrell

Whitney Worrell

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Mark Clemenz
wworrell@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Vertebrate paleontology, paleoenvironmental reconstruction, and stable isotope geochemistry

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon