Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Geology and Geophysics

Graduate Students

Jason Alexander

Jason Alexander

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
jalexa13@uwyo.edu
Website

Nathaniel Applegate

Nathaniel Applegate

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Susan Swapp
napplega@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Petrogenesis and mineralization of roll front uranium deposits

Thomas Ashley

Thomas Ashley

PhD candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
tashley3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geomorphology, Sedimentology

Mohit Ayani

Mohit Ayani

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Subhashis Mallick
mayani@uwyo.edu
Website

Russell Callahan

Russell Callahan

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Clifford S. Riebe
rcallaha@uwyo.edu
Website

Derek Caro

Derek Caro

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kazuba
dcaro@uwyo.edu
Website

Daniel Ciraula

Daniel Ciraula

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
dciraula@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Hydrogeophysics, geyser dynamics, and hydrothermal systems

Daniel Colwell

Daniel Colwell

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Michael Cheadle and Dr. Barbara John
dcolwell@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Origin and deformation of slow-spread oceanic crust

Grant Copeland

Grant Copeland

MS Candidate
Advisor: Janet Dewey and John Kaszuba
gcopelan@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Experimental geochemistry & water-rock interactions

Bradlee Cotton

Bradlee Cotton

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy

Website
Research Interests: Fluvial geomorphology, sedimentology, river system interactions

Andrea Creighton

Andrea Creighton

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parsekian
acreight@uwyo.edu
Website

Fabio Da-Prat

Fabio Da-Prat

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Carol Frost
fdaprat@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Isotope geochemistry and Archean crustal evolution

Chris Doorn

Chris Doorn

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Barbara John & Dr. Michael Cheadle
cdoorn@uwyo.edu
Website

Andrew Flaim

Andrew Flaim

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
aflaim@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleoclimate, Paleoecology

Fangyu Gao

Fangyu Gao

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
fgao1@uwyo.edu
Website

Garrett Gay

Garrett Gay

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
ggay@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Rare Earth Element Geochemistry

Michelle Gess

Michelle Gess

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Barbara John and Dr. Micheal Cheadle
mgess1@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Formation of fast-spread lower oceanic crust

Sarah Granke

Sarah Granke

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Reibe
sgranke@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Critical zone science

Alero Gure

Alero Gure

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Carrick Eggleston
agure@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Aqueous and Environmental Geochemistry

Chau Duc Minh Ha

Chau Duc Minh Ha

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
Chau.Ha@uwyo.edu
Website

Veronica Hanway

Veronica Hanway

MS Candidate
Advisor: Thomas Minckley
vhanway@uwyo.edu

Xiaoni Hu

Xiaoni Hu

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
xhu3@uwyo.edu
Website

Alex Jacob

Alex Jacob

MS candidate
Advisors: Ken Dueker and Po Chen
ajacob@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Seismology and Critical Zone Science

Lingxiao Jia

Lingxiao Jia

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Subhashis Mallick
ljia1@uwyo.edu
Website

JianYing Jiao

JianYing Jiao

Phd candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
jjiao1@uwyo.edu

Lisa Kant

Lisa Kant

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth W. W. Sims
lkant@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Petrogenesis of arc magmas in the Northern Andes

Ian Keifer

Ian Keifer

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ken Dueker
ikeifer@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Mantle seismolgy, ambient seismic surveys of the critical zone

Danchen  Li

Danchen Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
dli3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geohydrology, modeling and enhanced oil recovery

Xiaozheng Lang

Xiaozheng Lang

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
xlang@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geohydrology, modeling and enhanced oil recovery

Brandi Lawler

Brandi Lawler

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Runyon
blawler@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Magmatic evolution and the formation of ore deposits

David Liefert

David Liefert

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
dliefert@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Hydrologic/isotopic sensitivity of alpine lakes to climate

Mingliang Liu

Mingliang Liu

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
mliu4@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Reservoir characterization and seismic history matching

Ian McDowell

Ian McDowell

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Neil Humphrey
imcdowel@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Greenland Ice Sheet dynamics and basal hydrology

Cole Messa

Cole Messa

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
cmessa@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Isotope geochemistry and hydrothermal systems

Anthony Moraes

Anthony Moraes

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parsekian
amoraes1@uwyo.edu
Website

Felipe dos Anjos Neves

Felipe dos Anjos Neves

MS in Geophysics
Advisor: Andy Parsekian
fneves@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: snow melting at individual hillslope units in terms of the watershed scale

Minh Nguyen

Minh Nguyen

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
minh.nguyen@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: CO2 geological storage, subsurface modeling, risk assessment

Cory Ott

Cory Ott

MS Candidate
Advisor: Thomas Minckley
cott5@uwyo.edu

Meredith Parish

Meredith Parish

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brian Shuman
mparish1@uwyo.edu
Website

Stephanie Phillips

Stephanie Phillips

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
sphill24@uwyo.edu
Website

Ellen Polites

Ellen Polites

MS in Geology
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
epolites@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: geochemical reactions in carbon sequestration systems

Cody Pridmore

Cody Pridmore

MS in Geology
Advisor: Jay Chapman
cpridmo1@uwyo.edu

Rodrigo Rangel

Rodrigo Rangel

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parekian
rrangel2@uwyo.edu

Tessa Ray-Cozzens

Tessa Ray-Cozzens

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
traycozz@uwyo.edu
Website

Shane Scoggin

Shane Scoggin

MS in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jay Chapman
sscoggi2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Isotope Geochemistry, Petrology, Tectonics, Geochronology

Natalie Smeltz

Natalie Smeltz

MS in Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Andy Parsekian
nsmeltz@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Near surface geophysics, Yellowstone hydrothermal systems

Eva Smith

Eva Smith

MS in Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Dr. Brad Carr
esmith73@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Hydrogeophysics and Near Surface Geophysics

Greg Stark

Greg Stark

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
gstark2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Research Interests: Radiogenic isotope geochemistry, igneous petrology

Ioana Stefanescu

Ioana Stefanescu

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
istefane@uwyo.edu
Website

Nathan Swaim

Nathan Swaim

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Simone Runyon
nswaim@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Ore Deposit Formation and Characterization

Olivia Terry

Olivia Terry

MS Candidate
Dr. John Kaszuba
oterry1@uwyo.edu
Website

Megan Thompson-Munson

Megan Thompson-Munson

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Neil Humphrey
mthomp57@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Greenland Ice Sheet dynamics

Adam Trzinski

Adam Trzinski

PhD in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jay Chapman
atrzinsk@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Structural Geology, Tectonics, Geochronology

Jordan Von Eggers

Jordan Von Eggers

MS in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
jvonegge@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleolimnology, aquatic ecology, and ichthyology

Wei Wang

Wei Wang

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Po Chen
wwang9@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Near surface Geophysics, Seismology, Critical Zone

Madi Wewer

Madi Wewer

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr Micheal Cheadle and Dr. Barbara John
mwewer@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Microstructures at slow spreading ridges

Susannah Wright

Susannah Wright

MS Candidate
Advisor: Laura Vietti
swrigh23@uwyo.edu
Website

Contact Us

Department of Geology and Geophysics

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071-2000

Phone: 307-766-3386

Fax: 307-766-6679

Email: geol-geophys@uwyo.edu

Department logo
Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon