Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Machine Shop

Shop Policies

 


Please review the following policies for the UW Machine Shop.
  • We do not loan tools to non-UW users.
  • We occasionally loan tools for short-term lab use.
  • We charge an hourly rate for labor ($60 per) and machine time (between $60-80 per) in the following areas:
  • We don’t charge for consultations that take less than 30 minutes.
  • To discuss your project in-person at no cost, please bring the following information:
    • Project name/course number
    • Laboratory room number
    • Principal investigator, instructor, or advisor
    • First and last name of person requesting the work
    • Phone and email contact for requestor
    • Part material and quantity
    • Well-annotated drawing
  • Walk-in hours are 1-3 p.m. Monday-Friday and by appointment.
  • Raw materials can be purchased from the shop or provided by the customer.
  • During senior design, enrolled students may use the shop after completing mandatory safety training.
  • Other students must obtain permission from the shop manager before using shop facilities for university projects only.
  • Projects are prioritized generally on a first-in-first-out (FIFO) basis. If needed, the queue may be re-ordered with the following priority list: Academics, then funded research, then unfunded research, then external.
Equipment in machine room

 


UW Machine Shop Advisory Board Committee

 

Oversight for operations of the UW Machine Shop belongs to our advisory board, which consists of faculty and staff of the College of Engineering and Applied Science and the College of Arts and Sciences. The purpose of the board is to ensure that the facility meets the needs of the academic and research community, guide future capabilities including equipment and staffing, provide fiscal accountability, and manage projects in the event of any conflicts.


UW Machine Shop Advisory Committee (September 2017)

 

Name Department/Title Email
Michael Pishko CEAS Dean mpishko@uwyo.edu
Mēgan Barber CEAS Business Manager mbarber@uwyo.edu
Mike Schilt CEAS Shop Manager schilt@uwyo.edu
Marvin Perry CEAS Machine Shop marvin.perry@uwyo.edu
Jon Naughton Mechanical Engineering naughton@uwyo.edu
TeYu Chien Physics and Astronomy tchien@uwyo.edu
Caleb Hill Chemistry caleb.hill@uwyo.edu
Greg Brown Botany gkbrown@uwyo.edu
Vic Bershinsky Electrical Engineering vbershin@uwyo.edu

Share This Page:

Contact Us

UW Machine Shop

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-4243

Email: uw-shop@uwyo.edu

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon