Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Menu
Contact Us

Department of Geology and Geophysics

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071-2000

Phone: 307-766-3386

Fax: 307-766-6679

Email: geol-geophys@uwyo.edu

Department logo
Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

Geology and Geophysics

Faculty

Dr. Mark Clementz, Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Professor & Head of Department
ESB 1014
307-314-2174 | mclemen1@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Paleobiology

Dr. Brad Carr, Associate Research Scientist at the University of Wyoming.

Associate Research Scientist; Director- UW Near-Surface Geophysics Instrument Center (UWNSG); Facility Manager- Wyoming Center for Environmental Hydrology and Geophysics (WyCEHG) & FINSE
ESB 1008
307-761-3884 | bcarr1@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Near-Surface Geophysics, Hydrogeophysics, Exploration Geophysics and Shallow Geophysics

Dr. Jay Chapman, Assistant Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Assistant Professor
Earth Science Bldg. Rm 3008
(307) 278-9702 | Jay.Chapman@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Crustal Dynamics

Dr. Michael Cheadle, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Associate Professor
GE 221
307-721-5082 | cheadle@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geophysics/Magmatic Processes

Dr. Po Chen, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming

Associate Professor
ESB 2036
307-223-1126 | pchen@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Seismology

Dr. Ellen Currano, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Associate Professor
Williams Conservatory B03
307-766-2819 | ecurrano@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Paleobotany

Ms. Janet Dewey, Associate Research Scientist at the University of Wyoming.

Associate Research Scientist
GE 207
307-223-2265 | jdewey2@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Analytical Geochemistry

Dr. Ken Dueker, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming

Associate Professor
ESB 2034
307-742-1765 | dueker@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Seismic Imaging to Constrain Critical Zone and Continental Evolution

Dr. Dario Grana, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Associate Professor
Geology 223
307-223-2079 | dgrana@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Rock Physics and Reservoir Modeling

Dr. Neil Humphrey, Professor at  the University of Wyoming.

Professor
GE 320
307-314-2332 | neil@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Glaciology, Earth Surface Processes

Dr. Barbara John, Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Professor
ESB 3016
307-223-1951 | bjohn@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Structural geology/tectonics, igneous processes

Dr. John Kaszuba, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Professor
ESB 1010
307-766-6065 | John.Kaszuba@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Hydrothermal Fluid-rock Interactions

Dr. Subhashis Mallick, Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Professor
ESB 1032
307-766-2554 | smallick@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Seismology

Dr. Brandon McElroy, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Associate Professor
Geology 311B
307-766-3601 | bmcelroy@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Sedimentology, Surface Processes

Dr. Kate Miller, Professor at University of Wyoming.

Professor
Geology Bldg. Rm 129
307-766-2630 | kate.miller@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Active Source Seismology, Continental Evolution, Shallow Geophysics

Thomas Minckley

Professor
Earth Science Bldg. Rm 2038
(307 766-2925 | minckley@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Biogeography, Conservation, Paleoecology, Palynology, Fire Ecology, Natural Environments of the American West

Dr. James Myers, Professor

Professor
ESB 3028
307-223-2301 | magma@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Educational Research

Dr. Andrew Parsekian, Assistant Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Assistant Professor
Geology 133B
307-223-1197 | aparseki@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Hydrogeophysics

Dr. Cliff Riebe, Associate Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Associate Professor
ESB 2008
307-223-2321 | criebe@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Critical Zone Science, Cosmogenic Nuclides, Detrital Thermochronometry

Dr. Simone Runyon, Assistant Professor  at the University of Wyoming.

Assistant Professor
ESB 3010
307-314-9262 | srunyon@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Economic Geology

JJ Shinker

Professor, UW Director- North Central Climate Science Center; Coordinator- National Geographic Wyoming Geographic Alliance; Faculty Advisor- Multicultural Assoc. of Student Scientists (M.A.S.S.)
ESB Bldg. Rm 1012
(307) 766-7908 | jshinker@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Synoptic and Dynamic Climatology, Paleoclimatology, Hydroclimatology, Environmental Change, Water Resources, Drought and Geo-Visualization

Dr. Bryan N. Shuman, Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Professor
ESB
307-766-6442 | bshuman@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleohydrology, Paleoclimatology, Paleoecology

Dr. Kenneth W. Sims, Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Professor
GE 314
307-766-6679 | ksims7@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Isotope Geology

Dr. Susan M. Swapp, Senior Research Scientist at the University of Wyoming.

Senior Research Scientist
ESB 3026
307-766-2513 | swapp@uwyo.edu

Dr. Laura Vietti, Assistant Research Scientist at the University of Wyoming.

Assistant Research Scientist
Geol 206
307-314-2024 | lvietti@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Paleontology / Taphonomy

Dr. Ye Zhang, Professor at the University of Wyoming.

Professor
GE 220
307-223-2292 | yzhang9@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geological Modeling and Simulation, Hydrogeology

Contact Us

Department of Geology and Geophysics

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071-2000

Phone: 307-766-3386

Fax: 307-766-6679

Email: geol-geophys@uwyo.edu

Department logo
Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon