Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Geology and Geophysics

Graduate Students

Jason Alexander

Jason Alexander

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
jalexa13@uwyo.edu
Website

Nathaniel Applegate

Nathaniel Applegate

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Susan Swapp
napplega@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Petrogenesis and mineralization of roll front uranium deposits

Thomas Ashley

Thomas Ashley

PhD candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
tashley3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geomorphology, Sedimentology

Mohit Ayani

Mohit Ayani

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Subhashis Mallick
mayani@uwyo.edu
Website

Russell Callahan

Russell Callahan

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Clifford S. Riebe
rcallaha@uwyo.edu
Website

Derek Caro

Derek Caro

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kazuba
dcaro@uwyo.edu
Website

Grant Copeland

Grant Copeland

MS Candidate
Advisor: Janet Dewey and John Kaszuba
gcopelan@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Experimental geochemistry & water-rock interactions

Bradlee Cotton

Bradlee Cotton

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy

Website
Research Interests: Fluvial geomorphology, sedimentology, river system interactions

Andrea Creighton

Andrea Creighton

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parsekian
acreight@uwyo.edu
Website

Fabio Da-Prat

Fabio Da-Prat

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Carol Frost
fdaprat@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Isotope geochemistry and Archean crustal evolution

Chris Doorn

Chris Doorn

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Barbara John & Dr. Michael Cheadle
cdoorn@uwyo.edu
Website

Matt Edgin

Matt Edgin

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
medgin@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Organic geochemistry, water-rock interactions, unconventional reservoirs

Leandro Figueiroedo

Leandro Figueiroedo

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Daro Grana
leandrop@uwyo.edu

Andrew Flaim

Andrew Flaim

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
aflaim@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleoclimate, Paleoecology

Fangyu Gao

Fangyu Gao

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
fgao1@uwyo.edu
Website

Garrett Gay

Garrett Gay

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
ggay@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Rare Earth Element Geochemistry

Michelle Gess

Michelle Gess

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Barbara John and Dr. Micheal Cheadle
mgess1@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Formation of fast-spread lower oceanic crust

Sarah Granke

Sarah Granke

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Reibe
sgranke@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Critical zone science

Alero Gure

Alero Gure

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Carrick Eggleston
agure@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Aqueous and Environmental Geochemistry

Chau Duc Minh Ha

Chau Duc Minh Ha

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
Chau.Ha@uwyo.edu
Website

Ryan Herz-Thyhsen

Ryan Herz-Thyhsen

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
rherzthy@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Water-rock interaction, low-temperature geochemistry, physicochemical processes

Xiaoni Hu

Xiaoni Hu

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
xhu3@uwyo.edu
Website

Lingxiao Jia

Lingxiao Jia

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Subhashis Mallick
ljia1@uwyo.edu
Website

JianYing Jiao

JianYing Jiao

MS student
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
jjiao1@uwyo.edu

Lisa Kant

Lisa Kant

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth W. W. Sims
lkant@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Petrogenesis of arc magmas in the Northern Andes

Ian Keifer

Ian Keifer

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ken Dueker
ikeifer@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Mantle seismolgy, ambient seismic surveys of the critical zone

Rachel Laker

Rachel Laker

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Mark Clementz
rlaker@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: paleobiology, diagenesis, Raman spectroscopy, Geochemistry

Danchen  Li

Danchen Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
dli3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geohydrology, modeling and enhanced oil recovery

Xiaozheng Lang

Xiaozheng Lang

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
xlang@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geohydrology, modeling and enhanced oil recovery

Brandi Lawler

Brandi Lawler

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ken Sims
blawler@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Magma genesis and evolution at large calderas

Dancha Li

Dancha Li

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
dli3@uwyo.edu

Derek Lichtner

Derek Lichtner

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
dlichtne@uwyo.edu

David Liefert

David Liefert

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
dliefert@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Hydrologic/isotopic sensitivity of alpine lakes to climate

Mingliang Liu

Mingliang Liu

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
mliu4@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Reservoir characterization and seismic history matching

Nathan Maier

Nathan Maier

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Neil F. Humphrey
nmaier@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Marginal Ice Dynamics of the Greenland Ice Sheet

Ian McDowell

Ian McDowell

MS candidate
Advisor: Dr. Neil Humphrey
imcdowel@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Greenland Ice Sheet dynamics and basal hydrology

Cole Messa

Cole Messa

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
cmessa@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Isotope geochemistry and hydrothermal systems

Anthony Moraes

Anthony Moraes

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parsekian
amoraes1@uwyo.edu
Website

Minh Nguyen

Minh Nguyen

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
minh.nguyen@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: CO2 geological storage, subsurface modeling, risk assessment

Meredith Parish

Meredith Parish

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brian Shuman
mparish1@uwyo.edu
Website

Stephanie Phillips

Stephanie Phillips

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
sphill24@uwyo.edu
Website

Amanda Kacy Patrick

Amanda Kacy Patrick

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
apatric2@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Paleoclimate at the PETM using fossil plant proxies

Rodrigo Rangel

Rodrigo Rangel

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parekian
rrangel2@uwyo.edu

Marlie Schell

Marlie Schell

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Reiber
mschell2@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Rock weathering mechanisms and critical zone science

Greg Stark

Greg Stark

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
gstark2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Research Interests: Radiogenic isotope geochemistry, igneous petrology

Ioana Stefanescu

Ioana Stefanescu

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
istefane@uwyo.edu
Website

Taylor Sullivan

Taylor Sullivan

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parsekian
tsulli12@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Permafrost geophysics

Nathan Swaim

Nathan Swaim

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Simone Runyon
nswaim@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Ore Deposit Formation and Characterization

Olivia Terry

Olivia Terry

MS Candidate
Dr. John Kaszuba
oterry1@uwyo.edu
Website

Megan Thompson-Munson

Megan Thompson-Munson

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Neil Humphrey
mthomp57@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Greenland Ice Sheet dynamics

Wei Wang

Wei Wang

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Po Chen
wwang9@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Near surface Geophysics, Seismology, Critical Zone

Madi Wewer

Madi Wewer

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr Micheal Cheadle and Dr. Barbara John
mwewer@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Microstructures at slow spreading ridges

Susannah Wright

Susannah Wright

MS Candidate
Advisor: Laura Vietti
swrigh23@uwyo.edu
Website

Contact Us

Department of Geology and Geophysics

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071-2000

Phone: 307-766-3386

Fax: 307-766-6679

Email: geol-geophys@uwyo.edu

Department logo
Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon