Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Geology and Geophysics

Graduate Students

Courtney Birdsall

Courtney Birdsall

M.S. candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
cbirdsal@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Petroleum Geology, Geochemistry, Sedimentary Basin Analysis

Matt Butrim

Matt Butrim

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ellen Currano
mbutrim@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleobotany and Paleoecology

Daniel Colwell

Daniel Colwell

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Michael Cheadle and Dr. Barbara John
dcolwell@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Origin and deformation of slow-spread oceanic crust

Grant Copeland

Grant Copeland

MS Candidate
Advisor: Janet Dewey and John Kaszuba
gcopelan@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Experimental geochemistry & water-rock interactions

Julian Hernandez Diepenbrock

Julian Hernandez Diepenbrock

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Mark Clementz
jdiepenb@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Vertebrate Paleontology, Paleoecology, Paleobiology

Chris Doorn

Chris Doorn

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Barbara John & Dr. Michael Cheadle
cdoorn@uwyo.edu
Website

Matheus Faria

Matheus Faria

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
mfaria@uwyo.edu

Geil-Haggerty

Heath Geil-Haggerty

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
hgeilhag@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Fluvial Sedimentology

Jennifer Grischuk

Jennifer Grischuk

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Neil Humphrey
jgrischu@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Glaciology and ice sheet dynamics

Veronica Hanway

Veronica Hanway

MS Candidate
Advisor: Thomas Minckley
vhanway@uwyo.edu

Alex Jacob

Alex Jacob

MS candidate
Advisors: Ken Dueker and Po Chen
ajacob@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Seismology and Critical Zone Science

JianYing Jiao

JianYing Jiao

Phd candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
jjiao1@uwyo.edu

Lisa Kant

Lisa Kant

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth W. W. Sims
lkant@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Petrogenesis of arc magmas in the Northern Andes

Christina Kitamikado

Christina Kitamikado

MS Candidate
Advisor: Drs. Cliff Reibe, Brad Carr, Dario Grana
ckitamik@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Near-surface Geophysics, Bedrock Critical Zone, Rock Physics Modeling, Geomorphology

Danchen  Li

Danchen Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ye Zhang
dli3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geohydrology, modeling and enhanced oil recovery

Leon Li

Leon Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
ali@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Near-surface geophysics, critical zone, hydrothermal system

Peng Li

Peng Li

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Dario Grana
pli3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Seismic Reservoir Modeling, Bayesian inversion

Mike Loya Jr.

Mike Loya Jr.

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ken Sims
mloya@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geochronology

Crystal Luna

Crystal Luna

MS Candidate
Advisors: Dr. Michael Cheadle and Dr. Barbara John
cluna2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Igneous Petrology, Geochemistry, Structural Geology

Louise Mallon

Louise Mallon

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
lmallon@uwyo.edu
Website

Issac Mantelli

Issac Mantelli

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
imantell@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Aqueous geochemistry, isotope geochemistry, deep time

Sydney McKim

Sydney McKim

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Simone Runyon
smckim3@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geochemistry, Economic Geology

Cole Messa

Cole Messa

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
cmessa@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Isotope Geochemistry and Volcanology

Justin Mistikawy

Justin Mistikawy

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. B. John & Dr. S. Runyon
jmistika@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Economic Geology, Structural Geology, Metamorphic & Igneous Petrology

Andrew Miller

Andrew Miller

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Ken Sims
amille78@uwyo.edu
Website

Marissa Murr

Marissa Murr

MS Candidate
Adisor: Dr. Brandon McElroy
mmurr@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Sedimentology

Emmanuel Oladeji

Emmanuel Oladeji

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Andrew Parsekian
eoladeji@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Near surface geophysics, Machine learning

Stephanie Phillips

Stephanie Phillips

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Brad Carr
sphill24@uwyo.edu
Website

Ellen Polites

Ellen Polites

PhD in Geology
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
epolites@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Geochemistry and the energy transition

Mollie Pope

Mollie Pope

MS Candidate
Advisors: Dr. Jay Chapman and Simone Runyon
mpope5@uwyo.edu
Website

Rodrigo Rangel

Rodrigo Rangel

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Parekian
rrangel2@uwyo.edu

Tessa Ray-Cozzens

Tessa Ray-Cozzens

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
traycozz@uwyo.edu
Website

Amanda Rossi

Amanda Rossi

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Jay Chapman
arossi2@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Tectonics, Structural Geology, Metamorphic Petrology

Shane Scoggin

Shane Scoggin

MS in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jay Chapman
sscoggi2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Isotope Geochemistry, Petrology, Tectonics, Geochronology

Jessie Shields

Jessie Shields

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Jay Chapman
jshield5@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Tectonics, Igneous Petrology, Metamorphic Petrology

Greg Stark

Greg Stark

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Sims
gstark2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Research Interests: Radiogenic isotope geochemistry, igneous petrology

Ioana Stefanescu

Ioana Stefanescu

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
istefane@uwyo.edu
Website

Sophia Stuart

Sophia Stuart

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. John Kaszuba
sstuart2@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Aqueous Geochemistry, Rare Earth Elements

Tim Terlizzi

Tim Terlizzi

MS Candidate
Advisor: Thomas Minckley
tterlizz@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleoecology and Palynology

Amanda Toomey

Amanda Toomey

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
atoomey@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleoclimatology, paleohydrology

Adam Trzinski

Adam Trzinski

PhD in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jay Chapman
atrzinsk@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Structural Geology, Tectonics, Geochronology

Jordan Von Eggers

Jordan Von Eggers

PhD in Geology
Advisor: Dr. Bryan Shuman
jvonegge@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: paleolimnology, alpine ecology, and sedimentary DNA

Nancy Weinheimer

Nancy Weinheimer

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Cliff Reibe
nweinhei@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Geochemistry, geomorphology, Critical Zone science

Allie Wolverton

Allie Wolverton

MS Candidate
Advsior: Dr. Dario Grana
awolvert@uwyo.edu
Research Interests: Near-surface geophysics and subsurface modeling

Susannah Wright

Susannah Wright

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Laura Vietti & Dr. Mark Clementz
swrigh23@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Paleontology, paleobiology

Kayla Young

Kayla Young

MS Candidate
Advisor: Dr. Simone Runyon
kyoung41@uwyo.edu
Website
Research Interests: Economic Geology, geochemistry, metamorphic and igneous petrology, structural geology

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon