Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Promoting Intellectual Engagement Award

LeaRN Program

Congratulations 2021 Award Recipients!

The Promoting Intellectual Engagement (PIE) Award honors instructors who inspire excitement, inquiry, and autonomy in first-year courses. Recipients of the PIE Award are nominated on-line by sophomore students, and then selected by a committee based on thoughtfulness and volume of student nominations. Student's descriptions of nominees reveal the heart of excellence in lower-division instruction, courses that comprise the foundation of students' college experience and the crucial seed of intellectual self-awareness.

Recipients will be honored at a reception in September (tentatively).  The PIE Award is co-sponsored by LeaRN, Ellbogen CTL, Residence Life & Dining, and Advising, Career Services & Exploratory Studies.

- Rich Adams, Anthropology

- Brian Barber, Life Science

- Diana Baumbach, Visual & Literary Arts

- Paul Bergstraesser, English

- Aysenur Bicer, Physics & Astronomy

- Cameron Blais, English

- Melissa Butler, Mathematics & Statistics

- Joseph Carver, Music

- Joshua Clapp, Psychology

- Madison Clark, Communication & Journalism

- Tessa Dallarosa, Visual & Literary Arts

- Frederick Dixon, Culture Gender & Social Justice

- Jefferson Edgens, Ag & Applied Economics

- Tyler Fall, Philosophy & Religious Studies

- Mary Fenton, Honors College

- Garrett Genereux, Campus Recreation

- Matt Gray, Psychology

- Shawn Griffiths, Civil & Architectural

- Lori Howe, Honors College

- Shelby Hutson, LeaRN

- Randa Jabbour, Plant Sciences

- Catherine Johnson, LeaRN

- Patrick Kelley, Zoology & Physiology

- Christina Knox, Mathematics & Statistics

- Jennifer Kreiser, Accounting & Finance

- Sarah Lee, Family & Consumer Sciences

- Mark Lyford, Botany

- Andrew Meyer, English

- Rudiger Michalak, Physics & Astronomy

- Jennifer Painter, Kinesiology

- Mark Person, Modern & Classical Languages

- Josh Sainz, American Studies

- Adriana Salgueiro, Modern & Classical Languages

- Jacqueline Shinker, Geography

- Ann Stebner-Steele, Honors College

- John Willford, WWAMI

- Kassandra Willingham, Molecular Biology

- Yan Zhang, Modern & Classical Languages

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon