Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Office of the President

Aven Nelson

Aven Nelson


Aven Nelson was the President of the University of Wyoming from 1917-1922. He was born in Lee County, Iowa on March 24, 1859. Attending the state normal school in Kirksville, Montana, he received his B.A. in 1883. From 1885-1887, he was in charge of public schools in Ferguson, Montana, when he was offered a position as a teacher at the newly formed University of Wyoming. As he pursued his career in teaching, Nelson achieved his M.S. in 1890 from Drury College, his M.A. in 1892 from Harvard University, and his Ph.D. from the University of Denver in 1904. He also received an honorary Sc.D. from the University of Colorado.


Predecessor: Clyde A. Duniway

Successor: Arthur G. Crane

Contact Us

Office of the President

206 Old Main

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-4121

Fax: 307-766-4128


Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window) Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon